Era una casa, molto carina

I wake with the children’s rhyme resounding in the voices of innocence, the simplicity of intonation and of the ditty’s sentiment seem so perfectly attuned at this moment to the earthiness of being here.

There’s a dear little house, standing in the corner of two vineyards and an olive grove. It’s not quite without a roof and has a charmingly basic kitchen. We have yet to work out the issue of bodily functions. But it is our sanctuary, standing, small but perfectly formed, solidly at the foot of the Monte Amiata. Incomplete though it is, it already feels like a bolthole. My sliver of sunshine, actual and metaphorical. My still point in the turning world.

img_4990

I have escaped there for solitude. Time to think and to be.

The leaves on the fig tree curl in acidic yellow edged with brown, sharp against the gentle grey of the branches. The vines are almost bare, knotted and woody arms edged with gnarled nodes from which shoot russet brown sticks. Here, bleak winter is modulated by memories of the year’s seasons: delicate ever silver green leaves of the olive tree soften the barren season. Late autumn sunshine seeps through the peace of hearing a single fig leaf fall crisply to its counterparts on the ground. These indeed are:

‘Visions flitted Guido

Titian – never told –

Domenichino dropped his pencil –

Paralyzed, with Gold –’*

Paralyzed with Gold. I am in this still point and I am paralyzed by the gold of being here. Paralyzed by endless skies, crisp colbalt blue in the sun and the precision lines these draw in nature. Even with clouds the extraordinary effect of the expanse of sky bestows a light which is inexpressibly arresting. A light which sharpens the landscape into an awe-inspiring intensity. 

I am standing rooted in my still point and the apparently infinite wealth of nature is a panorama before me. 

But the world is turning and turning…. life seems both so inexhaustible and so precariously finite. I am in this still point. 

I can turn from the world’s pain, at this moment so acute and widespread; this is an extraordinary and humbling privilege, felt more profoundly as we move into our last weeks here.

Our little house will stand firmly here, embraced by the mountain, joyously open to the valley. A disparate reality. I stand, absorb and dance with this beauty only to turn to the grey pages of other realities. The streaked faces of the children of Syria juxtapose excruciatingly and pitifully with the children’s song in my head.

I take this moment to fathom my fortune and feel gratitude. I take this moment to fathom my fortune and make small promises to myself, promises to remember these disparate realities, the bella and the brutta of the world, to remember these realities and my good fortune in relation to each, now more than ever in the crushing reality of the world stage as we move into the last days of 2016. 
img_4992

*Emily Dickinson

3 thoughts on “Era una casa, molto carina

  1. Eleanor Shannon

    Dear Amy, This made me cry. I miss you so much, and it’s so sad to think that you’re leaving and I’m not there to help you at all. I miss Pienza and the Amiata, too.

    I just finished a long day of unpacking and cleaning. I still have my office to go. There seems to be a tsunami of things to do. Listening to the stillness of the mountain and thinking of you there was a beautiful, beautiful moment in my day.

    The sun is setting here in LA. I have an amazing view. The mountains were lit up as though on fire half an hour ago when I went out to walk. But there is nothing here that sets my heart racing.

    Let me know if you need to put anything over at the house.

    Love Eleanor

    >

    Like

    Reply
  2. amydoust Post author

    Lovely Eleanor, thank you so much for this beautiful message. The magnetic pull of this mountain is something extraordinary… and as we leave the effect on our emotions is extreme. More anon, x A

    Like

    Reply
  3. Margaret McCoy

    Dear Amy Thank you for sharing your story and lovely pictures with us. Love to everyone Margaret

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

