The Walkie Talkie Walk

P1020161Walkie Talkies topped both H. and P.’s letters to Father Christmas this year.  Father Christmas evidently concurred that this was a great idea and H. and P. each opened one half of a pair of walkie talkies on 25 December. La Principessa looked on, eyebrows raised, ‘Me?’ I attempted to distract her with a rather lovely painted wooden recorder from her stocking… however, I think Father Christmas is already resigned to another walkie talkie appearing in the house well ahead of 25 December 2016.

Up, dressed and full of the day’s excitement, we suggested that the children play outside with their new toys, to test the range, while we sorted out breakfast before the grandparents arrived.

Some ten to 15 minutes into the range test, the children finally realised that walkie talkies work best if both participants are using the same channel and I popped outside to see how they were enjoying this new form of communication.

I found P. armed with a long pointed stick, ‘I’ve got my spear,’ he announced, ‘I’m going to walk down to Granny and Grandpa’s!’

Really, I asked – on your own?

He was adamant and apparently fearless.

I asked H. if she wanted to go with him. No, she didn’t.

I tried asking again, this time suggesting that she should go with him. No, she shouldn’t, apparently: ‘P, you go, I’ll stay up here with the walkie talkie and check you’re ok,’ she said. I liked her inversion, presenting staying behind at Base Camp with the walkie talkie as an important role of responsibility, thereby deflecting attention from the fact that she was secretly a little afraid of walking down with P, alone, to the apartment their grandparents were staying in.

By this time, P. was at the bottom of the drive, radio-ing in. ‘I can hear you, Mummy. I’m on the lane, I’m ok’.

For a minute, H. toyed with the idea of joining him – she even ran down to the lane, only to turn round the moment she was off the boundary to return to the security of the house.

Meanwhile, the intrepid explorer and his spear had dipped out of sight. I should explain that I could see the end point for which P was aiming. It’s about 20 minutes walk away, all on the stone tracks that pass for roads cutting through the hills and olive groves here. We’ve done the walk together countless times, and I was under no doubt that P. knew the way – it being only two turns, would not get lost and, on Christmas Day, there was likely to be none of the ‘traffic’ that we do sometimes meet passing to and from the olive press.

Nevertheless, this was a Milestone with a capital M. It’s one thing to know the route, to make a judgement that it’s safe and not to be worried about cars on roads, it’s another to watch your five and a half year old boy walk off by himself, with his trusty spear (and walkie talkie). I tried to put myself in his shoes: what does it feel like to be five years old, walking down a lane surrounded by nothing but the silence of the olive trees (and one’s walkie talkie)?

I’ve thought before (here) about the notion of labels such as ‘danger’ and ‘dangerous’ and the fear with which we, as parents, imbue our children. It’s a well-intended fear, borne from love and fuelled by a primal desire to protect. I know that from an early age, I taught my children to stand away from cars, to think about where they were walking, to look before running across the road. Though I might have tried to explain rationally, very real dangers meant that in practice this often became an alert: ‘Don’t!’, Stop!’, ‘Careful!’ and ‘Watch out!’ peppered our walks to school in the UK. In trying to teach them that we need to take care around cars, amongst other things, I unwittingly instilled in my children fears which at times have become distorted and as they become older, I have seen them worry disproportionately in spaces and places where I feel considerably more comfortable. H.’s reluctance to walk down with P. was a manifestation of just such a fear mingled with her own need to be ready, at her own time, to take that kind of independent step.

So when P. took to the lane on Christmas Day, I felt fortunate that we are in a space in which he can make bold choices and gain so much strength from the satisfaction of doing something on his own. I burst with pride when he arrived at the gate to the apartment and radio-ed in. ‘I’m here, Mummy, I can see Grandpa’. His little voice crackled down the line, a fitting reminder that, only 50-odd years ago, the notion of children running wild all day in the countryside would have been commonplace. How far we have come in such a short time, and yet what have we lost?

Apparently he slipped into the apartment with Grandpa and sat down to a bowl of museli. When he came back up to the house later, I asked him how he felt. ‘Good, Mummy. It was a bit scary. But I knew my way.’

 

IMG_0546

 

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

5 thoughts on “The Walkie Talkie Walk

  1. Eleanor Shannon

    Dear Amy, This is super beautiful. I think it’s your best post yet. Such a metaphor for raising children…letting them move into a protected but “scary” spot and then, be welcomed back home. So many children never get that. Either everything is just chaotic and scary or they are held imprisoned by parents, who are afraid ever to let this moment occur. It is fundamental to development into adulthood. You are an amazing mom!!! xo Eleanor

    >

    Like

    Reply
    1. amydoust Post author

      Hi Eleanor – thank you so much, what a lovely response, really chuffed you liked the post. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and NY and hope we can meet up when you are back in Italy. Ax

      Like

      Reply
  2. Steve Edney

    Great post. The boys got walkie talkies one Christmas when we were in England, and I was always trying to encourage Felix to explore a bit of Norsey Woods (when we backed onto it) with his walkie talkie – he would have been around 7-8 without much success. At a similar age I lived backing onto bush in outskirts of Sydney and used to love exploring out into the bush on my own. It was partly our own property but I used to go beyond it at times.

    I think its great to learn a little about having to look after yourself. It felt like an enormous adventure to get all the way to the creek even though when I now look at google maps it was well less than half a mile (but included climbing down rocks – it wasn’t an easy walk).

    Like

    Reply
    1. amydoust Post author

      Hi Steve-great to hear from you and so glad you enjoyed the post and it resonated with you. I am really trying to make the most of being here where we have more freedom to encourage this kind of roaming. P. is all about it – the next day he walked out to meet Tom and me without letting the grandparents (who were looking after them) know! Hope all good with you – keep in touch and let us know if you are over this way and fancy a stop over in Italy! A

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

